Home > Edito

Week-end vert entre Toulouse et les Pyrénées

Less than an hour from Toulouse, come and recharge your batteries in Volvestre, where you can enjoy some uncomplicated social time with the locals and go wherever your fancy takes you! Breathtaking views, a rich cultural heritage, meandering waterways, winding roads and quality local produce... all this comes together to make an unforgettable countryside experience.

History has left many traces throughout Volvestre: for a journey back in time, discover the ancient bishopric of Rieux-Volvestre, the formerly walled town of Montesquieu-Volvestre, the plush houses of Carbonne and many other picturesque villages. Whether it is for a relaxing weekend or for a longer holiday in the countryside, many surprises await you along the way: Village gaulois (Gallic village), La Clairière aux insectes (insectarium), donkey trekking, water sports, stargazing, markets selling organic food and handicrafts… With the Pyrenees as a backdrop, you will find in Volvestre everything to satisfy an adventurous spirit.

The most energetic can go hiking, biking or paragliding and food lovers can get a taste of the local produce: honey, goat cheese, suckling calf, duck, foie gras… Art lovers and handicraft enthusiasts can  meet artists who will be happy to show them their paintings, jewelry or the way they work with stone, wood or ceramics. History and archeology enthusiasts can immerse themselves in the every day life of the Gauls or wander through medieval villages. For those who prefer a 100-per-cent relaxing cocooning weekend, there is a wide range to choose from: tree-houses, suspended tents, yurts, jacuzzis, saunas, hammams, massages, horse-drawn carriages…

Here you will find suggestions for walks, our special recommendations and truly unusual outings, as well as all the necessary details to plan your visit. See you soon!

Accueil > Edito

Week-end vert entre Toulouse et les Pyrénées

À moins d'une heure de Toulouse, venez vous ressourcer en Volvestre et partager des moments de franche convivialité, en toute liberté et au gré de vos envies ! Des panoramas exceptionnels, un riche patrimoine culturel, des cours d'eau en méandres, des routes en lacets et des produits du terroir de qualité... tout y est réuni pour que votre séjour à la campagne soit inoubliable.

Le Volvestre est riche d'une histoire qui a laissé de nombreux témoignages : la cité épiscopale de Rieux-Volvestre, la bastide de Montesquieu-Volvestre et les maisons bourgeoises de Carbonne ont traversé le temps et s'offrent aujourd'hui à vos envies de découverte. Que ce soit pour un week-end détente ou des vacances à la campagne, de nombreuses surprises vous attendent au détour des chemins : Village gaulois, Clairière aux insectes, balades avec ânes, sports nautiques, nuit des étoiles, marché bio et artisanal... Avec les Pyrénées en toile de fond, vous trouverez dans le Volvestre de quoi satisfaire vos envies d'aventures ou de découvertes.

Les plus sportifs s'adonneront à la rando, au cyclisme ou au parapente et les gourmands découvriront les saveurs de notre terroir : miel, fromage de chèvre, veau élevé sous la mère, canard, foie gras... Les amateurs d'art et d'artisanat rencontreront des artistes heureux de faire découvrir leurs toiles, leurs bijoux ou encore le travail de la pierre, du bois ou de la céramique. Les amateurs d'histoire et de vieilles pierres plongeront pour une journée au temps des Gaulois puis flâneront dans les villages de caractère des alentours. Et ceux qui préfèrent un week-end 100 % détente et cocooning auront également l'embarras du choix : cabanes dans les arbres, tentes suspendues, yourtes, jacuzzis, saunas, hammams, massages, balades en calèche...

Vous trouverez ici des idées de balades, des coups de cœur et des sorties insolites, ainsi que toutes les coordonnées nécessaires à la préparation de votre séjour. A bientôt !